Dog License

Dogs and Cats

All dogs and cats over the age of three months must be licensed. You must have a valid rabies vaccination slip and present it when applying for the license. Our City Ordinance states that no residence may harbor more than two pets. Animals are not allowed to run loose in the City; they must be on a leash no longer than ten feet. No animal, even on a leash, is allowed in the park areas. These areas are well defined with signs. Violators are warned and may be ticketed.

Animal Control Agency

Oakland County is our Animal Control Agency. They will respond to the following complaints from Sylvan Lake residents (not the Police Department): injured dog; any bite to a human by a dog, cat or wild animal; any dog at large; cruelty to animals; deceased dog (in road only). To report any of these, call 391-4102. To complain about barking dogs you should call Sylvan Lake Police at 682-2104.

Dogs

Each household is allowed not more than two dogs.  The State of Michigan requires ALL dogs over 4 months to be current with rabies vaccine and to have a Michigan dog license, failure to comply may result in a misdemeanor ticket. You may purchase a one or three year dog license.

A license must be purchased within 30 days of:
 

  • Purchasing or acquiring a new dog
  • A puppy turning 4 months of age
  • Becoming a Michigan resident
  • The expiration date of the prior license

back to the top